WRITING ARDUINO CODE

I am new to Arduino, and totally new to writing any type of computer coding. I have purchased the Arduino starter kit, and I am working on the first project that involves code writing. The project is from the instruction book you receive with the starter kit. The project is titled “SPACESHIP INTERFACE”. I wrote and copied the code EXACTLY as it is displayed in the instruction book, but I can not get it to compile. I get error messages, and I don’t have any idea what these error messages mean. And also, if I copied EXACTLY what was in the book why is the code not correct? I have attached the program I wrote. Any help would greatly be appreciated. Thank you. And remember, I am new to Arduino, and I have never written a line of computer code in my life.

Thank You;

Steve

SPACESHIP_INTERFACE_PROJECT.ino (817 Bytes)

(deleted)

Just post the code.
Why is it so hard to get that?

Here is the sketch I am having a problem compiling.

void setup(){
int switchState = 0
pinMode(3, OUTPUT);
pinMode(4, OUTPUT);
pinMode(5,OUTPUT);
pinMode(2, INPUT);
}

void loop() {
switchState = digitalRead(2);
if switchState = = LOW) {
// the button is not pressed

digitalWrite(3, HIGH); // green LED
digitalWrite(4, LOW); // red LED
digitalWrite(5, LOW); // red LED
}
else { // the buttton is pressed
digitalWrite(3, LOW);
digitalWrite(4, LOW);
digitalWrite(5, HIGH);

delay(250); // wait for a quarter of a second
// toggle the LEDs
digitalWrite(4, HIGH);
digitalWrite(5, LOW);
delay(250); // wait for a quarter of a second

}
} // go back to the beginning of the loop

int switchState = 0

Is this EXACTLY what is printed in the book ?
Have you typed it exactly where where it was in the program in the book ?

The irony of this is that there is no need to type the code in the first place as it is available in the IDE Examples

if switchState = = LOW) { I'd ask for a refund if the book looks like that.

Please remember to use code tags when posting code.