Writing data to file

Hello all,

I want to start off by letting everyone know that I am new to the Arduino and I have not had much experience with microcontrollers, hence some of the questions or comments I make may sound idiotic to some.

Anyway, I am working on a class project and I decided to use an Arduino Uno (R3) as my microcontroller (mainly because I want to learn more about the Arduino for my one personal projects). I will be using a Pulse Sensor AMPED, which I bought from MakerSHED.

I have connected the pulse sensor and an LED light to my Arduino and ran the Arduino and Processing sketch and everything is working good. The LED light blinks to my heart beat and the processor displays the graph.

What I am looking to do is save the BPM as a function of time (seconds) data to a file. I don't really care what the file extension is as long as I can end up saving it to an Excel file easily. I have looked up some things on how to accomplish this, but I have not been able to successfully code or process any of it.

Any good advice would be much much appreciated.

For reference:
Pulse Sensor AMPED: http://www.makershed.com/Pulse_Sensor_AMPED_for_Arduino_p/mkpls1.htm
Arduino and Processing Codes: The "GettingStartedProject" – World Famous Electronics llc.

Excel can read comma-separated-value files, also known as .csv files. They are easy to write. A little searching on "CSV" should find you more information on the format.

-br

You can send your data to a terminal programme like RealTerm in the same way as you send it to the serial monitor.
Realterm is a freebie. All you need do is send the necessary commas and lineshifts, and you have got the CSV file for insertion into Excel.