Writing temperature data to SD at specific RTC times

I’m a high school teacher trying to get an engineering project off the ground. We would like to collect temperature and humidity data in several classrooms at the same time of day. The temperature data comes from a DHT22. This data is then written to a SD card via a Catalex SD adapter card with a time stamp from a DS3231 RTC. Each classroom will have its own Arduino that will be powered by a USB wall block. The data will eventually be used for a project by our statistics classes.

We have successfully written this data to the SD card at specific time intervals (every 10 seconds or every minute). However, it would be much more helpful to collect the data at specific times of the day (at every 5 or 10 minutes past the hour, for example). So far I have a program that will write the data to the SD 1 time. It does not loop and collect the data on the times that follow. It appears to be stuck in the first part of the loop.

I attached a copy of the program that is intended to collect the data at every 5 min past the hour.

Can anyone suggest a way to do this? I’m new at this, so please be gentile.

Thank you,

Heat_study_4-22-19_collect_on_5_mins.ino (5.58 KB)

if(now.minute() == 0)            {
    data();
                                  }

if(now.minute() == 5)             {
    data();

}

if(now.minute() == 10)       {
    data();
                                }

if(now.minute() == 15)            {
    data();
                                     }

if(now.minute() == 20)        {
    data();

Really? I would expect a high school teacher to be familiar with division and the remainder of such.

Why do you need to call the minute function so many times? Call it once. Store the value in a variable. Test the variable, not a new call.

You are obviously familiar with Serial.print(), so add some more to loop(), to see what it is/is not doing.

int moment = now.second();