writing to an OLED display

I'm trying to display messages on an OLED display that I've been using with a Picaxe computer. With the Picaxe the interface to the display is 2400 baud, 8 data bits, no parity, one stop bit.

The display works fine with the Picaxe, but when I try using it on a Arduino UNO it displays garbage.

below is the very simple sketch I'm trying to make work.

(I'm very new to Arduino.)

void setup() { Serial.begin(2400); delay(1000); }

void loop() { Serial.println("Hello World"); delay(2000); }

Hi, welcome to the forum.

Can you tell which display it is ? you can copy a link in the post. How did you connect it ?

It’s a Picaxe AXE133 Serial OLED display.

The wiring is +5, GND, and data.

I hooked the data line to pin 1 (TX) on the Adruino board.
+5 and GND also from the Adruino board.

The display powers up and goes through it’s initilization.
But, when the Adruino does the Serial.print(“Hello World”), garbage shows on the display screen.

The display requires 2400 baud, 8 bits data, no parity, one stop bit.

This module : http://www.picaxe.com/Hardware/Add-on-Modules/Budget-Serial-OLED-Module/

When you set the Arduino to "Serial.begin(2400)", it is 2400,N,8,1. That is correct. You wait at least 500ms before sending a message, that is also correct.

Did you connect the display 'data' pin to Arduino pin 1 ?

I think you have to send the command to move to the first line, command : 254,128

void setup() 
{  
  Serial.begin(2400);
  delay(1000);              // wait at least 500ms for display after power on
}

void loop()
{
  Serial.write(254);      // command 254, 128
  Serial.write(128);
  Serial.print("Hello World");
  delay(2000);
}

I think the Serial.write will send a character above 127 as normal binary data.

Yes- the data line is hooked to pin 1 on the Arduino.

Your correct about the command bytes to position the cursor. When I was not able to make it work correctly I took all of that out to simplify the code.