ws2812b and msgeq7 spectrum sheild

I know this topic has been done to death but i haven’t been able to find what I need. Im very new to arduino and am making a spectrum rgb spectrum visualizer I found on reddit. I want to modify the sketch to separate at least 5 of the 7 available bands from the msgeq7 chip and have different ws2812b strips react. I like how the lighting effects works on this example and want to keep that effect.

I feel like the answer has to be staring me in the face… the original sketch i found from reddit allows you to select a frequency and display it on a single strip…so i know its possible to select a single frequency to be displayed.

so far all I have managed to learn is how to do is add more strips to the board and make them work.
I have found plenty of examples using a matrix but not sure how to apply that to individual strips of 20 leds.
I also dont quite understand how the frequencies are separated in those examples. I want to use individual strips instead of a matrix so i can arrange them physically anywhere.

for this project im using:
UNO R3
sparkfun spectrum sheild
ws2812b led strips

This is the code I have so far. it works just not how i want it to. all strips will display the same animation.
Any help is greatly appreciated, a nudge in the right direction is all I need.

#include <FastLED.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <Arduino.h>

#define STRIP2                13
#define STRIP                 12
#define NUM_LEDS_PER_STRIP  20
#define LED_TYPE              WS2812B
#define BRIGHTNESS            64
#define COLOR_ORDER           GRB
CRGB leds[NUM_LEDS_PER_STRIP];

// Audio input setup
int strobe = 4;
int reset = 5;
int audio1 = A0;
int audio2 = A1;
int left[7];
int right[7];
int band;
int audio_input = 0;
int freq = 0;

//int STRIP = (12,13);

// Standart Visualizer Variables
int midway = NUM_LEDS_PER_STRIP / 2; // Centre mark from double level visualizer
int loop_max = 2;
int k = 255; // Color wheel position