WS2812B LED visualiser problems

Hi, I am working on an audio visualiser based on a sparkfun project linked here: Interactive LED Music Visualizer - learn.sparkfun.com

The original project used one LED strip, but I need the arduino to send signal to 3 strips. As this is part of a college project being graded, I had to come up with my own code or a variation or expansion of someone else’s code, otherwise I would have just wired the strips in parallel. I managed to change the code so that it would send signal to 3 output pins instead of one, but when the code is uploaded and audio is fed to the arduino, there is severe lag and the pattern of the music is almost unrecognisable.

I have tried the code on both an Arduino Nano as well as an Arduino Mega 2560, but I had the same results with both

I have linked my altered code below and please feel free to tell me how to improve this and how to eliminate the lag.

also, I am very new to coding

sparkfun_visualizer_3rd_attempt.ino (6.07 KB)

What happens if you take out the delay()?

They don’t write the best code at these shops…

analogRead() returns an int. What data you feed the strip is integers, 3 bytes in those .Color() functions.

You do NOT want to use floating point to work those numbers because Arduinos have no FPU.
Working with floats on Arduino is a major speed kill and frankly a waste of time.

Brush up on your integer math and your sketch can run faster.

This code below ---- I can’t believe it does what you think.
Do you understand that return causes the function to exit?

uint32_t Rainbow(unsigned int i) {
  if (i > 1529) return Rainbow(i % 1530);
  if (i > 1274) return strand.Color(255, 0, 255 - (i % 255));   
  if (i > 1019) return strand.Color((i % 255), 0, 255);         
  if (i > 764) return strand.Color(0, 255 - (i % 255), 255);   
  if (i > 509) return strand.Color(0, 255, (i % 255));         
  if (i > 255) return strand.Color(255 - (i % 255), 255, 0);