XBee Pro, Pool light controller

Hello all,

My boss's $700 LED pool light broke and he wanted me to fix it. I figured I put an Xbee in there so he can have a wireless remote control to control it. He was hoping for individual R,G,B led control so I figured this would work well. My only concern is if the Xbee will have any trouble with range. I ordered the higher powered 60 mW wire antenna, https://www.sparkfun.com/products/8742

Now as far as I can tell there are no options to run any additional wires so the Xbee is a must. It is about 5 feet underground in a glass enclosure surrounded by water and cement/dirt I assume. What kind of range can he expect with a remote? Also the pool light has 12 volts AC and a ground wire. I am a real noob with radio stuff but is there anyway to increase the Xbee range by tieing the antenna to ground or to one of the 12 volt wires with some electronics or something?

Thank you!

I appreciate your time for reading this and look forward to your posts/suggestions.

You won’t get VHF or UHF signals propagating through anything containing moisture
in any form.

(This is the principle of the microwave oven - all the RF energy is dumped in the outer
few cm of the food because it contains moisture)

so then I will have to make sure it goes through the ground. will this cause directional reception issues ? with the water blocking half of the signal? and what kind of range will I get through about 5 feet of earth and dirt?

2.4GHz through anything with moisture: not good. Since you already ordered it, test it.

I have used 900MHz Xbees in industrial applications and the limit for reliable communication was about 120 meters. There is no direct line of sight, and lots of metal.

I'm not saying 900MHz would get you 100 meters with 5 feet being underground, but I would expect it to be better than the 2.4GHz. Did you read this: https://www.sparkfun.com/pages/xbee_guide