Yet Another 4-Pin PWM Fan Control Question

Hello all,

This is my first post here so please tell me/forgive me if I screw something up.

I have been banging my head against a wall for hours trying to get my Mega to control a 4 wire PC fan via PWM.

I have installed every library I can find and tested ever block of code, but the best I can get the fan to do id drop to it's minimum speed. It won't adjust anywhere in between high and low.

I've tried multiple different fans and multiple different frequencies (some of the code I've found allows for easy adjustment) but nothing seems to work.

I'm a total newb with a knack for logic but a lack of brain power sufficient to really dive deep enough to understand what happening in the background in order to actually make this work.

If anyone can be of any assistance I sure would appreciate it.

Which of the hundreds of different 4 wire fans do you have?

i would suggest you write some code to use PWM to control the LED (pin 13?) on the Mega then trying connecting pin 13 from the Mega to the PWM input to your fan

Thank you guys so much for the replies.

JCA34F:
Which of the hundreds of different 4 wire fans do you have?

I have tried several so far, currently I have a Nidec BETAV TA450DC Model B35502-35 4 wire fan connected.
Red and black wires are connected to 12v+&- and the bleck is also connected to the ground of the Arduino.
White is connected to pin 9 for RPM sensing and blue is connected to pin 8 for the PWM signal.

I believe everything is connected correctly because the fan drops to a low speed when I load the code into the arduino. I've also tried switching the pins around in the code.

I have also tried other fans with no better results.

I just measured the frequency coming from the PWM pin with a cheap oscilloscope/muiltimeter and it reads at 24.95khz.

gcjr: