Yet Another Upload Problem

Hello, I'm new here and I'm also new to the arduino. I have got a Diecimila and try to get it running (without success until now) and cannot understand what is happening.

At first some information on what I have:

OS is WinXP-SP2 During Arduino software installation the USB driver wizzard did not start, as a USB driver was already installed because of another device (a scope). This is a FTDI-driver version 2.2.4.0 (somehow "newer" than the one in the Arduino-distribution.

I checked the version of the bootloader and after checking connection 13 of the Arduino board (instead of pin 13 of the ATMega168 :-D) I saw ONE blink indicating presence of the right bootloader.

I tried uploading etc. as well as Admin as with my normal, limited account.

Trying to upload a simple test sketch looks like this (avrdude command expanded and complation snipped):

... Binary sketch size: 1270 bytes (of a 14336 byte maximum)

C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\Helmut\Eigene Dateien\kPapers&Tools\ \Elektronik\embedded\Arduino\arduino-0010\hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude \ -CC:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\Helmut\Eigene Dateien\kPapers&Tools\ \Elektronik\embedded\Arduino\arduino-0011\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf \ -v -v -v -v -pm168 \ -cstk500v1 \ -P\.\COM7 \ -b19200 \ -D \ -Uflash:w:C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\Helmut\Eigene Dateien\kProjekte\ \kOpenRC\RCTE\rcte\applet\rcte.hex:i

avrdude: Version 5.4-arduino, compiled on Oct 11 2007 at 19:12:32 Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/

System wide configuration file is "C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\ \Helmut\Eigene Dateien\kPapers&Tools\Elektronik\embedded\Arduino\ \arduino-0011\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"