You forgot your Sketchbook

Error Message

Total newb, no clue how to fix. Yes I googled, yes I found some things, most things not relevant and others are like me trying to decipher Russian using stone tablets. How to "Path"? Read this in "Preferences" text doc that says not to change anything in said text doc.

That implies that you don't have write permissions to your own documents folder... you might want to figure out why that is.

I think DrAzzy answered the important question but just to respond to the others:

Vloshko:
How to "Path"?

You'd need to provide more information if you want an answer to that. I'm pretty sure there was more to whatever you read than just "Path".

Vloshko:
Read this in "Preferences" text doc that says not to change anything in said text doc.

That's the wrong file. The one you would want to edit is located at C:\Users{username}\AppData\Local\Arduino15. If you can't figure out why you can't write to your documents folder then you may be able to change the sketchbook location by editing the value of sketchbook.path in the preferences.txt file found at that location.

Same issue I think; IDE splash screen pops up, then disappears and IDE is crashed. I run as an admin on Win10.

The error log reads "you forgot your sketchbook" error msg.

I'm trying to find this preferences.txt in de Arduino15 folder, but it's empty (not hidden either).

When I delete Arduino15 folder, it is recreated once I start the IDE.

Any ideas?

Try this:

1. Create a file named preferences.txt in the Arduino15 folder.
  2. Open the file in a text editor.
  3. Add the line sketchbook.path= followed by the path to a folder you have created for your sketchbook.
  4. Save preferences.txt
  5. Try starting the Arduino IDE again.
1 Like

Thanks! Didn't work though..

Getting the same error msg:

"You forgot your sketchbook: Arduino cannot run because it could not
create a folder to store your sketchbook."