Your experience on choosing a good arduino for wireless (wifi) robotics

Hi all,
I’m a secondary teacher in Maths and next year I want to try to teach computer programming in python. To make it more “enjoyable”, I would like to have a moving robots with a few sensors (at least a range sensor) which is controlled by sending command strings to it.
Why wifi: because it will make it probably easier to have several robots in the same room by choosing different IPs. Also it could also be used to teach some network basics.
So I need an arduino board with wifi. I have already tried a wifly module but at the time (last year) the library was still abit buggy.
So I would like to use a Yun for that but I want to make sure it is a good board for the job. The problem I see with it is the lack of 5v regulation which means two batteries: one for 5v and the other one for the motors/servos. Is that correct?
If you think it is not the good board for what I wanna do please give me ideas :wink:
TIA
Bye
Manu

The below shows a very simple network wireless bot project that uses a netgear 614 wireless router, an arduino, and a w5100 based Ethernet shield.

http://www.lynxmotion.net/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=6343

Thanks! I read the description, but it is wired which is not really practical in the class room. I definitely need a wifi shield or xbee wifi module. Please keep the comments/ideas coming ;-)

manufwi: Thanks! I read the description, but it is wired which is not really practical in the class room. I definitely need a wifi shield or xbee wifi module. Please keep the comments/ideas coming ;-)

So which part is "wired"? The router and servos are powered by a 12v dewalt drill battery and are independent of external wire connections. The laptop has a USB wifi adapter (which is now built into most current laptops and smart phones) which wirelessly connects to the netgear router.