Yun SD read/write is slow

I am trying to use the onboard SD card to log data from some sensors. The problem I am running into is that I need to log at 200Hz or faster. My best efforts so far on the Yun are only getting about 40Hz. I have done some searches and it appears that the bottleneck is the bridge library. Someone mentioned that they fixed the problem by bypassing bridge but don’t mention ho they did that.

My proposed solution is to send data from the MCU over serial1 at 115200 baud and run a python script to read the data and write it into the SD card. So far I have been able to send data over serial and read it in python and I am also able to write to the SD card from python. However, I have not been able to put all the pieces together successfully yet. I am pretty new to python so I am fumbling around quite a bit. I have spent a couple of days on this and before I go further I am interested to get suggestions on if I am going at this the right way?

fb4: I am trying to use the onboard SD card to log data from some sensors. The problem I am running into is that I need to log at 200Hz or faster. My best efforts so far on the Yun are only getting about 40Hz. I have done some searches and it appears that the bottleneck is the bridge library. Someone mentioned that they fixed the problem by bypassing bridge but don't mention ho they did that.

My proposed solution is to send data from the MCU over serial1 at 115200 baud and run a python script to read the data and write it into the SD card. So far I have been able to send data over serial and read it in python and I am also able to write to the SD card from python. However, I have not been able to put all the pieces together successfully yet. I am pretty new to python so I am fumbling around quite a bit. I have spent a couple of days on this and before I go further I am interested to get suggestions on if I am going at this the right way?