Help with clock project

Hi
I'm a newbie to Arduino, and have taken a projekt with a lot of hardware and programming issues. I'm trying to make an old clock a new heart. It's a big external clock with an internal gear and motor system. My plan is to use Arduino as a base, with RTC addon and a encoder for correct time. I have set the encoder up on one of the axles of the machinery. Rotation is 2minutes on 360 degree turn. This is a simple clock function with only minute hand moving and hour following. So every minute give a pulse to a relay, and move minute hand to get accurate time with the encoder. I apprechiate all the help I can get.

You said you can control the clock with a relay, which suggests that the clock is driven by an electric motor. Clocks driven by AC synchronous motors are very accurate, so if it runs on an AC motor, then why isn't that good enough to keep the clock accurate without going to all this extra trouble?

Is it a church type clock ?

You probably need to give a better description of the clock mechanism and what parts you are replacing with your new development and give links to the parts you plan to or have already purchased (e.g. encoder)

Setting an arduino plus RTC to deliver accurate time pulses to a new or existing relay or motor control should no problem. Reading an encoder should also be straightforward.

Is the clock drive motor a stepper motor? At one revolution every 2 minutes, that would be half the speed of a clock's second hand