16 LEDs Powered from Arduino Mega 2560

Hi, I’m wondering if I can safely power 16 individually LEDs from my Arduino Mega 2560. I’ve read on other sites that there is a 40 mA max per pin and 200 mA max total. So if my LEDs were drawing 20 mA each, would I not be able to power 16 as that would be 320 mA total? I also have an RTC being powered by the board. My project is to have 16 LEDs turn on an off at certain times of the day. I’d prefer to have it all powered via the board plugged in via USB and I’ve also seen that I could draw up to 800 mA if I use each of the GND and VCC pins together, but I would need help on how to do that so I don’t fry anything

Thanks again, I’m still new to this electrical stuff and terminology so some clarity would be helpful.

*Edit: Sorry, I should have been more clear. I am just using 16 5mm white LEDs and wish to control each of them independently. I am also using an DS3231 RTC and I assume that would need some current set aside for it.

The 40 mA max per pin applies to the IO pins on the microcontroller. But it's very unlikely you would power an addressable LED strip from an IO pin. The IO pin(s) are only connected to the data line(s) of the LED strip. The data lines don't power the strip, so there is no problem with getting anywhere near 40 mA on the IO pin(s) connected to the data line(s).

Note that each individual LED can draw somewhere around 20 mA (if you measure, I think you'll find it's a bit less than that). There are three LEDs per addressable RGB LED. So if each LED is drawing 20 mA max, the maximum current of your 16 addressable LEDs is 20 x 3 x 16 = 960 mA. You won't get that from a USB port. So if you want to be able to run the whole strip at full brightness, you should use a separate power supply for the LEDs.

Many ‘simple’ LEDs are bright enough at 5mA.

What LEDs are you using?

Yes you can power the Mega from the 5 volt Vcc pin with an external 5v power supply.