16x2 LCD Backlight Power Problems

Hello All:
I'm new to Arduino, programming and electronics. (Please be gentle).
I searched the forum, and although I found MANY LCD Power issue threads, I could not find my answer.

When I plug my LCD into the Arduino (Pin 8 ) and set it to HIGH it goes on as expected.
But it is not as bright as when I plug it directly into 5V power on the breadboard.
I've tried other pins including PWM pins using an analogWrite.

Pin 8 Meters out at 5v as does the breadboard.

Is there any reason for the dimmer screen?

Yes. Your backlight is probably drawing more current than the Arduino I/O pin can supply. It doesn't matter which pin you try they all have the same limitations. You are overstressing your Arduino and it is doing the best it can to power your LCD backlight. Ultimately you are likely to irreversably damage the I/O pin.

It is generally considered a good idea to limit the current from any single I/O pin to around 20 mA. The absolute maximum allowable current for any one pin is 40 mA and there is also a limit to the total current for various groups of pins.

If this is the case then you should power your LCD backlight directly from the 5V and control it with a transistor driven by an I/O pin if you feel that such control is necessary.

Don

Oh! I was under mistakenly the impression that all of the pins were capable of outputting 5V I have alot to learn but that clears it up for me for now...except now I need to research transistor control of the backlight. :slight_smile:

Thank you for clarifying that for me!

Nick

They all do output a nominal 5v when they aren't being overloaded. When you draw too much current the output voltage drops.

Don

If resistor R8 (or R9) on the back of the 1602 display is "101" - 100 ohms - then you are not overloading the Arduino pins because that value restricts the current to about 20 mA.