2 instances of Metro causing problems with ethernet shield web server

Hi,
I'm slowly putting together an automated heater project, so far mostly by chaining together examples I've found online.

The foundation is this Arduino Ethernet Shield Web Server Tutorial with an UNO R2 and an Ethernet Shield. So far I've also added in temperature sensing (TMP35, output displayed on the webpage), and interfacing with remote control sockets to control mains appliances (fairy lights as a useful debugging tool initially, and now the heater too).

I've hit a problem when I've started adding timers for checking the temperature (every few seconds) and for switching the heater on/off according to the current temperature (at longer intervals).

If I have two instances of Metro, the web page no longer displays - I just get a blank white screen.
Activity in the serial monitor shows that the temperature logging and heater switching is still taking place thought.

I'm new to AJAX and working with the ethernet shield, can anyone explain to me what's causing this problem, please? Could there be some sort of conflict between the Metro library and the ethernet shield?
Workarounds also welcomed :slight_smile:

I've attached the sketch I'm using, rather than posting it in-thread, as it's over the character limit...

If you have to check that the timer has expired, anyway, what is the value of using the Metro class?

Record when you last did a temperature check or a heater check, and test if it's been long enough to require another check.

I don't have much experience with coding and I tend to get in a bit of a tangle with approaches that use millis() to keep track of time intervals (I assume this is the alternative method you're suggesting?).