Actuator automation based on timer from sunrise.

I want to catch the relative time of daylight. Then based on the number of times I choose per day, I want to extend and then retract an actuator. I have some experience in programming C++, and understand libraries, but I have little experience with this kind of hardware. I will except any help with the hardware, but I think I can figure that out with tutorials. The programming with this hardware is where I am confused.

I intend you use an arduino (version unsure) and relays to open and close the actuator. I want to use a light sensor to recognize a certain level of light to determine the day has begun. It is not important that I know the time of day.

I could use help on both hardware and programming.

Here is an example of what I would like to happen,
variable A = 4
If Light then begin timer
If timer > (some set time, let's say 4 hours) and A >0 then run the actuator out, wait (seconds), then run actuator in.
A = A - 1

When A = 0 and/or No light then restart process the next day.

Could I initiate a loop when the light is detected, delay (4 hours) at the beginning of the loop, run the actuators, A = A - 1, close the loop when A = 0? Then nothing happens until the next time the sensor detects light?

Knowing some C++ is good. Actually old fashioned C is quite usable.

There are books for Arduino beginners that tell the basics, both about hardware and software. Have You got any of that?

What's Your experience regarding hardware, electronics, used around microcontrollers? It is not "plug and play".