Adafruit GFX font size points to pixels for Epapers

Hi all!

I'm looking at the wonderful GxEPD2 library, which uses Adafruit GFX library for the fonts.
I look at the fonts and I read for example:

FreeMonoBold9pt7b

From Adafruit GFX using fonts page I read that 7b stands for 7 bytes and 9pt is the size of the text in points.

Now I would like to know if 9 pt is the height or the width of the character and where I can find the conversion from points to pixels (maybe this depends from the density of the single screen, so may it vary screen by screen?)

This information is useful for undestanding the real space occupied by the font character on the screen.

Thank you

Hi Bjack795,

You nearly got it. I am not a fonts expert, but I think 9pt roughly stands for font height, which is constant, 7b stands for 7 bit encoding, meaning character values from 0 to 127.
The width is character dependent, except for Mono-spaced fonts.

Points and pixels are the same for textsize 1.

font                 xAdvance  yAdvance

FreeMono9pt7b        11        18
FreeMonoBold9pt7b    11        18
FreeMono12pt7b       14        24
FreeMonoBold12pt7b   14        24
FreeMono18pt7b       21        35
FreeMonoBold18pt7b   21        35
FreeMono24pt7b       28        47
FreeMonoBold24pt7b   28        47

FreeSans9pt7b        5..18     22
FreeSansBold9pt7b    5..18     22
FreeSans12pt7b       6..24     29
FreeSans18pt7b       9..36     42
FreeSans24pt7b       12..48    56

FreeSerif9pt7b       5..17     22

(code tag used to render table in monospace)

Use the following Adafruit_GFX methods to retrieve the space needed for single character, whole word, or whole line.

getTextBounds(const char *string, int16_t x, int16_t y,
      int16_t *x1, int16_t *y1, uint16_t *w, uint16_t *h),
    getTextBounds(const __FlashStringHelper *s, int16_t x, int16_t y,
    getTextBounds(const String &str, int16_t x, int16_t y,
      int16_t *x1, int16_t *y1, uint16_t *w, uint16_t *h);