Allow 220v electricity when the power is on.

Hi guys,

I am quite new to all this arduino stuff but I've recently made a setup where I am reading sensor and then sending that sensor data via email, that's my knowledge so far of how to make things operate.

But now I have a thing to do that...in the house on the country-side that we have, sometimes our electricity happens to go
off here and there from time to time.

Now whenever the electricity is off, and then it gets back on, we have to allow the electricity to flow in by pressing a button on a switch that passes the 220v electricty through the switch and then the power is back into the house. My guess is that this switch is there to prevent any devices from unstable power that can go higher then predicted when the power is back.

My problem is that, I have no idea how would I read if there is power or not through the Arduino.

My idea out of the blue is: I need to detect if the power went off.
If it is off, wait for the power to get back on.
When it's on, allow the 220v to pass through (aka press the switch we have to usually do).

But I have no clue what kind of modules I would need to use or circuit to make this happen or to read into the Arduino. I have Arduino Uno.

Any advice or suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Detecting whether power is available in the house (and when it goes off) is easy. Just plug in a mobile phone charger and connect the 5V output to a digital input. When the power goes out, the signal goes low.

Detecting when power is coming back may be harder as you have to somehow detect the presence of the power OUTSIDE your home, before the switch. Not knowing your house, no idea how that could be done. A clamp-on current sensor won't work at least as until the button is pressed there is no current.

Pressing the switch, that could be done using a servo or so.