Amplifying a small voltage

I cannot figure out how to amplify a very small voltage within the range of 0 to 5 mv and need some guidance. I am trying to read this voltage via the Arduino's analog input. I have a couple of op amps but do not know which one to use or how to use it. The op amps I have are the: LM324,741, TL082,LM339. I do not know how to set the gain of these op amps either and will need some help on choosing which resistors to use. I am pretty new to the Arduino and don't know much of the lingo. Any help would be a awesome, thanks!

Read here
http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/electronic/opampvar.html
Want a gain of 100 to 1000.

Ok thank you, but I'm still not understanding how to set the gain. What type of op amp am I going to need to use, noninverting?

You'll need a noninverting Op Amp circuit, as you are looking to turn 0-5mV into 0-5V. More than one, as a single Op Amp stage with a gain of 1000 is going to have a variety of problems.

However... that is a tall order, not really suited to old Op Amps like the LM324. It would also be wise to use a negative supply voltage for the Op Amps, because there is not really any such thing as a true rail-to-rail Op Amp, not when you are talking about inputs in the range of mV.

What is this signal coming from? Perhaps this is something that would benefit from being in a Wheatstone Bridge configuration.

Two free and really good books on Op Amps and how to use them:

Op Amps for Everyone Design Guide Rev B
www.ti.com/lit/an/slod006b/slod006b.pdf?

Handbook Of Operation Amplifier Applications
Operational amplifiers (op amps) | TI.com?

Yes, they are long, but using Op Amps with very small signals is not so simple. There are things like input offset voltage, input bias current, etc.

When amplifying a very small voltage the first step (or stage) of the amplification is not amplification at all but input offset adjustment because you don't want an offset to be amplified: