Arduino Car Info Device

Hi everyone.
I'm new to this entire Arduino whole, and the reason for me even being introduced to Arduinos is because of an idea I had to have a device that is installed in a vehicle(preferably small).
This devices stores the vehicles information on it(I. E. The license plate, the vehicle make and model, the owner's name and info, etc).
Along with the information, it will receive GPS data and send it to a desktop or mobile client for real time location, it will also have the vehicle's speed.
The GPS data will then be sent from the client to a database to be stored for a couple days and the data will keep on renewing itself just so it would not full the database(not sure if that makes sense),
It's kept as an 'archive' in this database just in case something happens and let's say the authorities need to know the location of a vehicle/s at a certain time and the speed it was driving at.
Now my idea for this was to get it installed in every car in my country(not the US) so the authorities can use it to help with mainly crime fighting but while going deeper into this idea.
I realised that it can be helpful in many other aspects.

Is it possible?
Is Arduino the device to get these tasks done?
And can someone help me understand the basics of how something like this could happen whether I'm using Arduino or not using it.
Little backstory, I'm 19 and pursuing a degree in Information Systems Management.
I always wanted to create something pertaining to programming but I could never come up with ideas no matter how hard I try to brainstorm something, but this idea came across my mind when I was thinking of ways to help in solving the rampant crimes in my country, and I really liked it and it seems somewhat plausible to me.
I'd really like to try and learn about Arduinos more and create this project for
1)my own personal goal accomplishment and
2)to help as much as I can to make my country as safer as it can be.