Arduino input seems to be randomly toggling?

Hi there, I'm new to Arduino and the software so please don't assume any knowledge at this end :-)

I have a 5VDC across a normally-open switch to a terminal. The terminal is linked via a 10K Ohm resistor to the negative of the 5VDC supply and to the input on the Arduino. (The negative of the 5VDC supply is also linked to the GND pin on the Arduino).

I have programmed the pinMode to be "input" in the setup function.

The input is meant to toggle a relay when it is High, however I've found it is toggling the input randomly. Even when there isn't 5VDC on the actual switch?!

I've tested the resistor and it's working.

I've put a meter across the input and the -5VDC and I get around 0.01VDC. This seems to stay the same even when the relay is toggling so it is like the Arduino is switching itself?

I have a bit of code like this.....

if(digitalRead(XButton) == HIGH){
Serial.print("Read an input from XButton");
     Xmode();
   }

Even without 5V on the switch I am still getting random "Read an input..." text appearing in my serial monitor.

My Arduino has both a 12VDC supply via the DC jack and the USB connected but I read that didn't matter?

For some reason, if I unplug the 12VDC supply the problem seems a bit worse? But this could be just a coincidence?

Anyone any ideas on what could be happening here? The obvious thought is that it's noise but there are no mains cables or anything near it?

Any ideas would be very gratefully received. Thanks :-)

uptown47: The input is meant to toggle a relay when it is High, however I've found it is toggling the input randomly. Even when there isn't 5VDC on the actual switch?!

if the NO switch is between the Arduino pin and ground it will make the pin go LOW when you press the button.