Arduino Uno Bluetooth Flight Control

Hello,

I'm currently building a quadcopter with lightweight recyclable materials such as tin and balsa wood. I have also purchased 4 motors and 4 ESCs.

A friend of mine suggested that I would be able to program the Arduino board to control these motors. I was just wondering if any of you had any tips or pointers to help me get started? I have limited programming experience and this will be my first time using the Arduino board. I've searched around for some similar projects, but a lot of them are using Ardupilot or such.

I would appreciate any pointers or links to help me on my way. Thanks a lot for your time!

I'm sure if you googled "arduino quadcopter" - you would find a ton of links.

Also - you're going to need more than just an Arduino to control the motors - you also need a device called an "IMU" (Inertial Measurement Unit) - basically it can sense gravity and acceleration, so it can properly balance and orient the machine.

There's also this (long) thread:

Arduino BlueCopter

Hi cr0sh,

I have googled for this but I found a lot of ArduPilot projects, and the BlueCopter you mentioned is programmed with a Leonardo board, not an Uno.

So I also need to have an IMU along with the ESCs? Any other materials that I would need, or any other resources? Thank you for your help.

You will need a battery and charger. If you want remote control you will need a radio. If you want autonomous flight you will need a GPS.

Have battery and charger. What kind of radio are we talking about here?

And any advice on programming the Arduino Uno to power the motors? Thank you all.

Check out Multiwii. It is a flexible flight controller program designed for use with several different types of atmega chips (uno, leonardo...)