Audio Analyzing with Algorithm help

Hello people, I'm new to this arduino thing and I have an idea for our project in school.. It's a smart trash bin.. example, when I throw in a paper to the bin it will analyze it's sound if it's really paper and push it in to the biodegradable side of the bin and same goes for non bio.. I figured I'd definitely use a sound sensor then pre record some audio on paper and etc. then something to analyze the audio and the realtime sensing...

I don't really know how to explain this but I hope some of you get where I'm going at..

sorry for being such a newb, :sweat_smile:

Yes I get the idea, and it is often asked about in one form or other, baby crying, dog barking and so on.

then something to analyze the audio and the realtime sensing

That is the difficult / impossible thing to do unfortunately, two sounds can sound the same to us but produce vastly different waveforms.

The best option you could try is an Arduino voice recognition shield and see if you can train it to your sounds. But I don’t hold out much hope, a lot depends on how many false positives and negative triggers you can put up with for your application.

You can do it, but not with Arduino. For voice recognition to work like this, you need more advanced chip like Kendryte or X86 Linux / Android smart watch with GRT C++ framework (Github: GRT, spoiler: I help with this project). Or Google Tensorflow.

I am sound engineer and music producer. The waveform complexity is not a problem. Problem is you need better computation engine and Arduino voice recognition shield is not that. Because of: low number of samples in a dataset, optimized for voice (not good frequency spectrum), cannot tweak & optimize machine learning algorithm (neural networks, svm, etc.).

Therefore you need well tested X86 or neural network AI chip solution. It is more about software than hardware.

It is more about software than hardware.