Automobile light sequencer-controller

Arduino noob looking for a constructive critique:

This is my first attempt at programming for the Arduino, and I have to say I'm very happy with how easy it was to work with and how well it came out. I usually program for Windows in Delphi, so it was hard to readjust to having my compiled code come out at 1814 BYTES. How large is the typical first program anyway ?

I've been needing to make a light controller for a show car I'm building, and after lurking here for a while I figured this would be the way to go. My coding style is probably not what anyone here is used to seeing , but I would be very glad to get any critique of my circuit or the programming.

I wrote the program so that it would be very responsive (even with built in delays) and so that I could easily add or change new light sequences without having to change the code (only variables). I realize I could have used interrupts for the input, but what I came up with is super fast and very tiny, and again, its my first try

I tried a couple of times but I cant seem to post the code here. I guess it's off to the FAQ again

The web page for my project with YouTube, photos and code

http://www.raymondandrews.com/zx-lights

Hi Ray, nice job with the video and the code and documentation. You may want to move connection on D1 (its used by the Serial port) to D14 (A0). Also, you could use internal pull-ups instead of R9-R13 (just digitalWrite an input pin HIGH to enable them). Ideally pots connected to analog inputs should be between 10k or 20k but in this application it probably doesn't matter.

have fun!

Hi Ray,

ths lighting looks nice and smooth. I also like the idea about having multiple profiles for increased flexibility. Good work!

You could have a look at the code of people who program POV-(persistence of vision)devices, it has a lot in common with your coding (especially storing light sequences in arrays for different symbols(letters).