Automotive tachometer for electric turbo

Hey guys!

I'm very new to arduino and have limited experience (Built a lifesize robot with the Ardumoto shield) so please bear with me. I've done a ton of googling and don't understand what it takes to read RPM's from a car tach. I understand that they use frequencies and one of the ways of reading it is converting the frequencies in to volts; But is that necessary? I read somewhere that Arduino is capable of handling 16Mhz which could mean that reading my engine's max RPM of 9,000 should be feasable assuming:

9000 RPM = 9,000 revs per minute = 150hz. 1 Megahert = 1,000,000 hertz so arduino should have no problem reading 150hz.

My question is; How do I connect this to arduino? (Not looking for a hand out.. An in depth explanation would be lovely!) I don't need to display the RPM's as the overall goal of the project is to make a brushless motor spin when X RPM is hit. (Similar to a shift light).

Please assist!

electric turbos dont work

Greensprings:
electric turbos dont work

Thank you for your opinion. I’ll determine that through testing… In the mean time; You can sign up for the following forum and track my work as I’m assuming you are making an assumption on the motor I’ll be using to spin a compressor wheel: http://www.dsmtuners.com/threads/non-ebay-electric-turbocharger-supercharger.489506/page-10#post-153510534

as a side note; another company has created electric turbo’s that work and have been tested and proven.

If you have any evidence that electric turbo’s wont work no matter what electric motor you’re using then please supply evidence. Simply saying something will not work without proof or fact is one of the main reasons projects and new ideas don’t get attempted.