Basic Question

Hi All
I have a scenario here. I am a newbie starting to explore Arduino. I know my question is quiet stupid but i feel wise enough to post in this forum and learn some tips. Here it is. In middle of a Loop function, I wanted to start an event run it for few seconds, switch it off and rest of the functions in the loop be continued.
In other words I can say if a switch is being pressed continuously, i want a led to be on for just few seconds and then off and no repetition. I would appreciate a small block of code as an example. Thanks

This is a great use of blink-without-delay.

You note the time using millis() when the switch was first pressed, and turn an output on.
Next pass thru loop, you check if its time to turn that output off, ignoring the hi/lo state of the switch.
If sufficient time has passed, you turn the output off, and if the switch has gone back unpressed, you go back to watching for a switch press.

Here is the code I had written
int ButtonPin = 2;
int LED = 13 ;
long StartTimer ;
void setup()
{
pinMode(LED,OUTPUT);
pinMode(ButtonPin,INPUT);
//digitalWrite(LED,LOW);
}

void loop()
delay (100);
if (digitalRead (ButtonPin) == HIGH) {
digitalWrite (LED,HIGH);

StartTimer = millis();
}
LEDOff();

}
void LEDOff()
{
if ((millis()- StartTimer) > 2000)
digitalWrite (LED,LOW);
//else
// digitalWrite (LED,HIGH);
// switch off the LED after 2 sec irrespective of Status of ButtonPin.
}

When I press the button the LED is on and is supposed to switch off after two seconds irrespective of the Status of ButtonPin, which is not happening in my case. Kindly suggest.

That code doesn't even compile.

moorthies:
When I press the button the LED is on and is supposed to switch off after two seconds irrespective of the Status of ButtonPin, which is not happening in my case. Kindly suggest.

Try this (untested)

int ButtonPin = 2;
int LED = 13 ;
unsigned long StartTimer;
int state;
void setup(){
  pinMode(LED,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(ButtonPin,INPUT);