Boat Automation Project

Hi all
I'm a bit new to this but have had my boat more or less automated on an arduino nano for the past year and just wanting to make everything a bit neater. I will break down the different parts of the project:

1:Power
The boat runs off 12V batteries which are divided into 2 banks (engine start and house) which are separated by a voltage sensitive relay. I want to design and implement a circuit in my project that will step down the voltage to 5V to run all my logic level stuff. This circuit will ideally clean up the power and have some protections in it.
2:Buttons Inputs
I am designing a circuit that allows at least 10 buttons to input into the nano using minimal io pins. Currently my plans are to use ic2 through a MCP 23017 chip.
3: LED Driver
Each button has a 12V LED ring around it and so I plan on using another MCP 23017 with 2 ULN 2803 transistor arrays to drive them. I am thinking about using a PWM pin to drive a mosfet on the shared positive line to dim the LEDs if they are too bright.
4:Relay Driver
All these buttons and LEDs are linked through the nano to a relay driver which will have a similar structure to the LED driver but power 16 power relays which will activate all the electrics on the boat

This is the basic structure. Other potential components include:
blown fuse indicator
Raspberry pi interface with arduino
Sensors for water level, fuel level, engine monitoring, fire, CO, Gas.

Once the basic circuits are designed I will probably need a bit of help with the programming as I have never used ic2. Let me know if this is the right place to post this. I was thinking of first posting all my basic circuit designs one at a time which I will breadboard and then make up with smd components.

Cheers
Patrick

First of all, it's I2C, not ic2. The wire library is the place to look for I2C functionality. Have you done some SMD design work before? What is your electronics background or skill level?