Calculate elapsed days and hours

I'm new to the platform and been reading about the time library operations, can't figure out how to calculate the elapsed time in days/hours from two rtc.now() readings.

I store one value in an unsigned long variable and want to calculate the difference with a realtime reading

I see there are macros for doing this, but from the examples and my lack of knowledge in the language I cannot assemble the right routine to calculate it and serial print its value.

If you can point me to an example I'll be grateful.

Pablo

EEPROM.read() only reads ONE byte

use put() and get() to handle something more than 1 byte (and update())

EDIT: why did you modify your post while I'm answering.. examples are provided in the doc and with the class

J-M-L:
EDIT: why did you modify your post while I'm answering.. examples are provided in the doc and with the class

Sorry about that, was so ashamed of my stupid mistake that I repurposed the post intead of writing a new one with the other doubt I'm having (tried to delete it but found no way)

Nothing to be ashamed about; We don’t judge the persons here, just comment the code.

We all started somewhere and wrote stupid things… even today probably it still happens to most of us until we go “gee what was I thinking”…

Thanks!! Maybe you can help me with the edited question

for the record, this was the deleted question:

Hi, I was having problem retrieving a stored value from eeprom for my arduino uno project, it turns out, the value was never stored, here is the minimum code to reproduce my issue, im compiling with 1.89

#include <EEPROM.h>;

int modo;
const int loc=25; 
void setup() {
    Serial.begin(9600);
    modo = EEPROM.read(loc);
    Serial.print("read value: ");
    Serial.println(modo);
    modo=2;
    EEPROM.write(modo,loc); // edit this was my mistake… facepalm
    modo = EEPROM.read(loc);
    Serial.print("Read stored value: ");
    Serial.println(modo);
}
void loop() {
}