can an arduino program itself?

Not sure if that is the best way to describe it. Let me start by saying I'm a total noob, I have never used an arduino or anything similar, I haven't purchased one yet either. I have spent the past several hours learning about them so I have some idea of their capabilities, I wonder about one thing though.

Here is my project in a nutshell. 6 relays, 7 switches. 6 of the switches are for presets and 1 switch is to enter program mode. Basically you hit the program switch then for example switch 1, this allows you to program switch 1 so you then hit switches 2, 4 and 5 then the program switch which then saves what you did. If you then hit switch 1 it would turn on relays 2, 4 and 5. You could reenter program mode at any time and change which relays are activated by which switch. Is this possible? There's more to what it would do then that but that's the part I'm not sure an arduino can do.

I know I can do it with a PIC, I've seen it done, but I know nothing about them either lol. Frankly the arduino route appeals to me more because there is so much else I can do with a smaller learning curve as I understand it..

There is no "Program mode". There is a USB, a PC and code. You change the code and reload it to the arduino and at the end of the transmission the arduino resets and runs the code. That is not a mode, it's a
cycle of tasks or events. I don't know of any "program mode". What you are talking about is a program that
revolves around reads and writes to the EEPROM, based on switch presses. The program has some kind of
user feedback like leds or lcd, and polls a switch to determine when to enter the user input (variable values) mode after which (by polling the EXIT switch) it exits program mode. Whether the user input is stored when it is entered or stored after exiting program mode is up the programmer. The program is always running and code never changes so I would hesitate to call it "Program mode" because you are not