Can I use a 555 chip to "multiplicate" duty cicle of a know square wave signal?

Hi there

I work on telecoms and we have a brand of cabinets with built in refrigeration that relays in 2 temperature sensors.

However the manufacturer only gives us a partial admin credential to commissioning the cabinet. And that admin privileges don´t let us near the PWM configuration of the fans (which only goes as high as 70% DC regardless the built in high temperature.)

Our partial solution was to plug to +12V the PWM signal wire which makes the fan go at full speed all the time (a BRUSHLESS fan) but in the long term this causes overheating of the wingdings and eventual failure of the fan. (Tough it has a PTC thermistor in the (+).

So... leaving context behind an as an electronic amateur I was wondering if I can use the 555 chip to "modulate" the original PWM signal of the cabinet. So for example for a 10% original duty cicle, the 555 chip will "multiply it to an output of a 30% duty cicle for example.

I think that I can use the trigger or the reset pin of the 555 to accomplish this task, and first I will need to know at which frequency the cabinet´s PWM signal is operating right?

I would be glad if anyone more experienced or willing to help can throw a bone here

Thanks in advance. And sorry for the language, not native english speaker.

Regards

A 555 can produce a PWM signal based on the incoming signal, but its duty cycle can only add to the incoming pulse.

You would basically set it to monostable, and use the PWM pulse of the fridge's signal as trigger for the 555. The 555 output goes high when the incoming pulse goes high, and low a certain time after the incoming pulse goes low.

This is where an Arduino can come in: it can measure the PWM signal of the fridge, and produce a signal with the same frequency but increased duty cycle.