Can we do multitasking?

I am new in arduino. Knows nothing much.

My question is can we do multitasking in arduino any other board? for example, I want two programs in arduino, one program for controlling motor according to UV or IR sensors reading and other program for lighting some LED according to temperature sensors. Is it possible to run both simultaneously?

Thanks mAtes

Hello and welcome,

No, it's not possible to run 2 programs simultaneously, but almost: it's possible to make your arduino process small amount of each of your programs at a time, so that it will look like it is multitasked. Look for "state machine", or, if your programs are complex, look for an RTOS library.

http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/LibraryList#Sched

The usual approach is a repeating loop containing both tasks. You just have to be careful about timing. The pseudo code looks like this:

repeat forever {

get UV, IR set motors get temperature set LED display }

The devil is in the timing, but it is possible and often done.

Look at how things appear to multitask in several things at a time

That system, using millis() for timing is very easy to implement.

...R

nigga:
My question is can we do multitasking in arduino any other board? for example, I want two programs in arduino, one program for controlling motor according to UV or IR sensors reading and other program for lighting some LED according to temperature sensors. Is it possible to run both simultaneously?

Yes we can!

But only “cooperative multitasking” is possible, not “preemptive multitasking” which can be done with PCs that have some kind of “operating system” that provides time-slices for “preeemptive scheduling”. Microcontrollers have no operating system and therefore they have no preemptive multitasking.