Capacitive Soil Moisture Sensor

Good day All,

This is my first time posting to this forum and kind off my last resort as I would've liked to figure it out myself. I am trying to create a soil moisture probe which can be used on farms to determine soil moisture at different depths. The project consists of a Arduino Nano, a DIY capacitive moisture reading setup (schematic attached- My setup is the same except for the LED moisture indicator)) and an LCD screen to display the required value.

My initial setup was a Arduino Nano (328P Old Bootloader) with a resistive soil moisture sensor. However, these sensors (as they are resistive) do not give reliable readings when measuring at different spots in a field. I believe it is largely influenced by pH, salt content etc.

My next approach was to build a DIY capacitive soil moisture sensor. After searching the web I came across a setup on hackster.io ( https://www.hackster.io/Pedro52/arduino-capacitive-soil-moisture-sensor-diy-with-esp32-d7ad72 ) where a signal is sent via a ESP 32 microcontroller to a probe in the soil and a signal is returned. I implemented the same setup with the same components however I only used optimization of the timers on the Nano to generate the PWM wave (Once again this code was also obtained from another website and I am still a bit confused on how the code works).

I seem to get a reading from the sensor but the zero value seems to very volatile. Even if the wire is only picked up, the output reading changes. Is there a way to get around this and can someone please help me to get my system working optimally.

It would be highly appreciated.

//The setup uses a Chinese Arduino Nano, a 10M ohm, a 10k ohm, a 1N4007 diode and a 1 microfarrad capacitor as shown in the schematic. 
//The LED moisture indicator in the schematic can be ignored

//#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>
//#include <LcdBarGraphRobojax.h>
#include <Wire.h>

//LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd = LiquidCrystal_I2C(0x27, 16, 2);