char vs string

Hello!

I'm new to arduino and I have a question.

I have read that a char data type have 1byte memory so that we can initialize a char with a single character. Unlike a string is a char array data type with a null character in the end of data, with this way we can initialize a string with several characters. When I declarate a char data type such as, ( char example;) and I try to read some datas from serial with the example opetate for instance example = Serial.read()
and then I try to print this data, why can I print more than one digit. I understand that the result of this is my operate behave such as a string, but I don't understand why

Thank you in advance

Is it because you’re printing the numeric value of the char in the code you didn’t post?

No I print the operate char and I write letters in the serial terminal

and then I try to print this data, why can I print more than one digit

If I get you right, you are asking why do you see a sting although the char can hold only 1 piece of the string ?

–>because you likely print them sequentially in the loop as they come one by one. So on the Serial monitor it looks like you got a string.

void setup() {Serial.begin(115200);}

void loop() {
  if (Serial.available()) {
    char example = Serial.read();
    Serial.print(example); // <<-- print only 1 char but the loop loops, so if you send more data, it prints more
  }
}

if you post some code, we can explain better…

nuh, I feel a little bit dummy,

and if I want to work with string I have to write a code like:

char c, str[10];
int i;

if(Serial.available() > 0)
{
c = Serial.print();
if(c != '\n')
str[i++] = c
}
else
{
str = '\0';
With this way I fill tha array, one by one position for a digit, and if I want to print the array I have to write
Serial.print(str);
right?

Hello harisv, can you please tell me your code with what you are having problems. It would be better if you do and I can tell you a solution.