Check of PCB layout

Hi,

I am a beginner and like to produce my first PCB for controlling a two PSUs and Fans. So perhaps you can check of there are some best practices I did not know or other faults/comments that should be changed before producing a PCB.

Many thanks in advance.

Nils

I am not sure how much help anyone will be able to give but please post a schematic of your circuit

I miss power/ground planes, and you really have to do something about the silkscreen or you have no idea which part an annotation belongs to - if it's readable at all, and not on top of another annotation or under a neighbouring part.

All traces are the same width; this may or may not be an issue depending on the currents flowing through them.

90° angles are usually avoided to limit signal reflections. Usually this becomes only an issue for signals at the high end of what an Arduino can handle (>1 MHz), probably not an issue for you.

Hi HeliBob,

the circuit itself is fine (done prototyping) but no I like to create a nice PCB thats also a little smaller in size.

@wvmarle: Thanks for you comments, thats I need.

Ground/Power is delivered by PSU1 and there is no additional source.

There is no large current in my oppinion, perhaps you can comment it. There are 5 consumers: 3x fan, 1 LED and 1 buzzer. Should I resize one of this?

Only I2C, Buzzer and PWM for fans have higher rates. Created it with 90° angels because I thought this is the best, good to know. Should I change this as it should not larger than 400Khz?

Cheers,
Nils

So what ARE the currents?

When building PCBs with KiCAD I even have to put a lot of effort in even making 90° corners... it won't do that by itself when drawing traces unless it has to... And who am I to overrule the design rules made by people that know a lot more about building PCBs?

I checked some fans and the current should be round about 200mA. Every other component has less current.

Hi.