Checking button state when making sound

Hi everyone, I am pretty new to this arduino programming. I am trying to do the following but I am a bit stuck on how to achieve this result.

I found some code that shows how to play a continuous sound through a speaker. I would like to implement into the code that if a certain switch is on then the sound will play, but if the switch is turned off then the sound wont play. I dont know how to implement this into the code, can someone please offer some guidance.

This is short code, I have seen some longer code with sounds which looks really cool but I cant figure out the switch settings to make the sound play or not.

int triggerPin = 7;
int echoPin = 8;
int pingPin = 5;

void loop()
{
if (digitalRead(pingPin) == HIGH)
{
int duration, distance;

digitalWrite(triggerPin, HIGH);
delay(10);

// my attempt here to check the pin state for the push of a button
if (digitalRead(pingPin) == LOW){ digitalWrite(triggerPin, LOW);}

digitalWrite(triggerPin, LOW);
duration = pulseIn(echoPin, HIGH);
distance = (duration / 2) / 29.1;
delay(500);
}
}

Appreciate any help...

You are missing [ code ] tags.

You are missing a setup() function so this won't compile.

I don't see any attempt to make sound. This looks like code for an ultrasonic distance sensor.

I would like to implement into the code that if a certain switch is on then the sound will play, but if the switch is turned off then the sound wont play.

If your question is about doing this with a switch and a continuous sound, then why did you post code about a ultrasonic sensor? Did you post the wrong code? Can you describe the requirements a little more carefully?

stevieb12:
if a certain switch is on then the sound will play, but if the switch is turned off then the sound wont play.

Simple. Place that switch in the wire that leads to the speaker.