CNC mill controller questions/issues coding

Okay, first off, as you can tell, I’m a n00b to this. I’ve picked up what I know so far by decompiling sketches and ramming what I’ve gleaned from that together to form sketches. Now, prior to getting into microcontrolling via Arduino, I have had no prior programming experience. Keep it simple at first; I gain ground and can hold my own fast. I’ve gotten through this design!

I’ll give y’all a rundown of what I want to do, then I’ll get to the code and the errors I’m encountering.

I’m designing a CNC mill. Now, the driver area of it I’ve pretty much gotten down-pat, but I wanted to design a controller for it. That is, this CNC mill takes the brute-force approach of having to have every dimension, every movement converted into steps, dimensions, and delays and hard-coded into the software itself. That’s fine and dandy…if I’m trying to mill a square or rectangle. But for complex designs increasing the scope of the mill requires increasing the coding by exactly that much.

So I’ve gone about designing a controller. That is, a second Arduino which would have a keypad entry and 3 4-digit 7-segment displays for displaying entered values in the X, Y, and Z axes, and 5 push-buttons. Each button would essentially trigger “on” an axis - for data to be written to the X-axis screen and placed into memory as a value, the X-button has to be depressed. It’s the brute-force way of doing this, but with this mill I won’t be in any hurry to do the coding nor do I want to make the coding more complex than it has to be. Revamping it is for when I have a working device in the first place. The other two buttons are a reset button, for resetting the controller for the next command, and another button (in the code called masterButton) that triggers an analogWrite series of commands writing the X, Y, and Z axis values to pins.