code optimalization needed :)

Hello all. I am a very beginner Arduino developer and to be honest this is my first project. I create it on examples from the internet, so it’s a bit chaotic and I hit the wall. in my Arduino UNO the memory ran out :(, unfortunately at this stage I am not able to deal with it. Maybe there will be someone who could look at my program and correct the novice’s errors? I will be very grateful.

dispenser_state_machine.ino (13.9 KB)

hat is the program intended to do ?

Start with the simple stuff

Make sure that all variables are of the appropriate type, ie, are you using ints to hold values that are never greater than 255 for which a byte would be sufficient ?

Use the F() macro when printing strings so that they are stored in program memory
eg

Serial.println(F("no SD card"));

lcd.print(F("Made by:"));

It is a little dispenser intended to help my wife to drop smoking :smiley:
It give one cigarete and register it, then shows on the screen how long time ago was last one and, when new one is taken it shows how many was today and compare it to yesterday.

Is there any chance of using EEPROM to hold the data ?
I ask because the SD buffer uses a lot of memory

Don't use Strings, particularly as you are already short of memory. Consider zero terminated arrays of chars (aka C style strings) instead

I used SD card because I already have it, and it was easiest, might in the future I can swap to eprom.
I have had some issues with char data types, the compiler always was complayning for something :frowning:

I have had some issues with char data types, the compiler always was complayning for something :frowning:

So fix it !

I have changed all printing lines to use sugested F() macro, and now compiler stops at marked line and shows error:
initializer fails to determine size of ‘__c’

strMinutes=String(minutes);
if (minutes<10) {
strMinutes=“0”+String(minutes);
}
lcd.print(F(String(hours)+" "+ strMinutes +“min ago”)); ← here
}
else{