Coil winder project

Hi,

I'm new to Arduino, have little programming experience, and need your help go get started. I've done some research but I really need your guide if I'm going into right direction, or maybe I need different controller???

About project:

I'm gonna make nc coil winder. Plan is to make it open source. All parts available to bay on te market or 3d print, with tutorial, plans etc. I think there is a need for a proper professional coil wonder to wind perfect coils, transformers, pick ups that anyone can do. At least I need one :slight_smile:

...Im ok with design and build the machine

More details:
-All operation to be done without need for pc
-LCD for user menu, rotary push button encoder to write data
-MDI and Memory mode

• programs will be simple, like: How many revolutions, wire thickness, coil dia, coil length, and how many leyers.
  • save, write, and run programs from memory
    -hardware: 2 x dc motors, 1 stepper, LCD, 4 rotary encoders, some buttons and 2 limit switches.
  • controller(while running cycle) need to read data from encoders and interact accordingly with dc motors and stepper(close loop). For example when winding on a rectangular, tension on a wire will very and to keep it even encoder will send data, and controller need to adjust speed on dc motor.

I'm thinking of using Arduino mega + LCD 12864 + uStepper(for stepper) + VNH2SP30(for 2xdc motors)

Do you think this setup is right for this job??? Will Arduino have enough power? I want to learn to programme(probably will need help) but just need to know Im on right track.

Sorry for my English
Thanks

I recommend DON'T use any DC motors. Use one stepper to turn the coil form and a second to move the wire feeder back and forth to lay neat layers.