Controlling DC Motors via USB Controller

Hello!

Working on my senior design project and looking for some advice. Please be patient as my background is mechanical engineering and I don't have a strong foundation of electronics/hardware and some prior experience with Arduino, but mostly on smaller project with an Uno.

To keep it simple, I am planning to use an Arduino Mega to control 2 DC motors and 2 solenoids with a motor shield. I was hoping to be able to used a USB wired Xbox 360 (off brand) controller to control the motors. My understanding is I would either need a USB Host shield to do this? (When the Arduino is running, it will not be connected to a PC so using the Serial port isn't really an option, but please correct me if I am wrong) Or I could take apart the USB connector and wire the pins individually?

My questions are, a.) do I need the USB host shield? b.) Can I use both the USB host shield and the motor shield at the same time? c.) Would all of this be easier/avoidable by using a different controller than can communicate another way (Bluetooth?) Any help is really appreciated. Please be patient with me! Eager to learn and hoping I am asking the right questions.

Please give a broader view of your project, then we have an idea how much power, accuracy, speed and complexity is needed.

Everything starts with your motors and solenoids.
Do you have to turn/act in both directions ? What is their stall current ?

Pololu has this page to start with: https://www.pololu.com/category/9/motion-control-modules
There are "Drivers" and "Controllers" for brushed DC motors. A controller can control a motor on its own and the Arduino or Raspberry Pi sends commands.

a.) do I need the USB host shield?

You need a shield for most Arduino board, but not every USB device is supported. You could also use a board with a USB host included (but don't buy the Due board). A Raspberry Pi is full computer, that is better for USB devices.