Convert int to ASCII problem

Hey there!

I have a question regarding my code. I make a simple code to convert an int to ASCII form in the serial monitor. The code work but after the ASCII number printed in the serial monitor there are number '10' that suddenly pop up afterward.

This is my code:

int b;
void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop() {
  while(Serial.available() == 0)
  {}
    b = Serial.read();
    Serial.println(b);
}

Thank you and this is my first time post in the forum :slight_smile: .

10 is the ASCII character for newline which is what the ln at the end of println adds ('\n').

If you're sending the serial data to the Arduino from Serial Monitor, you can change the newline behavior of Serial monitor in the dropdown menu at the bottom on the right.

pert:
If you're sending the serial data to the Arduino from Serial Monitor, you can change the newline behavior of Serial monitor in the dropdown menu at the bottom on the right.

I changed the 'newline' to 'no line ending' and it works! Thanks so much.

@OP

From the title of the topics, I understand that you have an integer data like 1234 (for example) which you want to convert into ASCII codes (0x31, 0x32, 0x33, 0x34 = 49, 50, 51, 52) and save them into a suitable variable. We don't see the process of conversion in your sketch other than transferring data from the InputBox of the Serial Monitor to Arduino and then sending back the data to the OutputBox of the same Serial Monitor. If my observation make sense, how do you want to convert your int into ASCII -- using rudimentary codes or C function? Would appreciate to see the post of your efforts?

GolamMostafa:
@OP