Converting my many ino tabs to cpp/h files

Thanks to encouragement and tutelage from Gfvalvo and in0, I have some time to start experimenting / learning how to put my multiple ino tabs into cpp/h files.

Of course, it's mostly greek to me. Everything I know about C++ has been self-taught using the Arduino IDE (with lots of help from this forum), so namespace and classes is a somewhat foreign concept.

My first tab on this learning experience is wifi.ino. I use it to connect to my wifi and set up some global variables. I am getting a 'not in scope' error for a #define in the main ino file. I am probably missing something simple. Any tips would be appreciated.

Here is my main ino file:

#define SKETCH "cppTest2"
/*
 * Experiment with changing my multiple ino files into cpp/h files.
 */

#include "setupWiFi.h"

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(115200);
  Serial.println("\nTest begins");

setup_wifi();        //Connect to my WiFi

}

void loop(){}

Here is my .cpp file:

//setupWiFi.cpp

#include "setupWiFi.h"
#include <Arduino.h> //needed for Serial.println()

// setup_wifi() function
// ============== Connect the ESP to the router ==============
// Connect to WiFi network so we can reach the MQTT broker and 
// publish messages to topics.

void setup_wifi() {

byte mac[6];                    // The MAC address of your Wifi

Serial.println(F("\n"));
  Serial.print(F("Connecting to "));
  Serial.println(MY_SSID);

WiFi.mode(WIFI_STA);
  WiFi.begin(MY_SSID, MY_PASSWORD);
  while (WiFi.status() != WL_CONNECTED) {
    Serial.print(WiFi.status()); Serial.print(F(" "));
    delay(500);
  }
  Serial.println(F("\nWiFi connected, "));
  Serial.print(F("MAC Address: "));
  Serial.println(WiFi.macAddress());
  Serial.print(F("IP address: "));
  Serial.println(WiFi.localIP());
  Serial.print(F("RSSI: "));
  Serial.println(WiFi.RSSI());
  Serial.println();

// Get the last three numbers of the mac address.
  // "4C:11:AE:0D:83:86" becomes "0D8386" in macBuffer.