count hours

hi

i’m new to Arduino, just got it week ago with serial 4x20 LCD

already got the basics, but i have a few question, maybe basic too:

1. i need to count hours when Arduino is running is it possible to use EEPROM and Millis or I’m definitely need something like DS1307?
  2. how can i measure AC voltage?

thanks,
Anton

EEPROM has a relatively-limited number of erase/write of about 100K guaranteed.
Depending on how often you intend updating your counters, this may or may not be a problem.

A/C measurement? Bridge rectifier.

sorry i didn’t get about EEPROM number erase/write. Could you please explain more?

so if i will count Millis and write new digit to EEPROM in like every 5 minutes will it be fine?
power up->read EEPROM address->count → write new digit

will this work?

yes A/C measurement. should i use something like LM2940?

i want to build multifunctional display for my jetski

EEPROM has a limited number of times you can overwrite a given location.
There are lots of variables, but the manufacturers only guarantee that you can do this 100 000 times per location.

If you write to an EEPROM location every five minutes, then 100 000 / 5 = 20 000 minutes = just short of two weeks.
You could get a little clever by then writing that data to a different address in EEPROM, but it’s down to you to keep track of where all your data is written.

An LM2940 is a regulator, used to regulate DC voltage.
I don’t think it would be much use with AC.

What were you thinking of measuring?

now it’s pretty clear for me about EEPROM

thank you very much!

i’m trying to measure RPM
i have i wire goin from HALL IC thru CDI which gives DC 12v when engine is stopped and AC when engine is running

what should i use in this case?

Do you really mean AC, or simply a pulse train?

He probably means a “pulse train” (square wave pulses) coming off of a Hall Effect Sensor.

Posted by: nau Posted on: Today at 14:57:11
now it’s pretty clear for me about EEPROM