DAC project questions

I've recently been studying up on AD and DA conversion. I am wondering if there is a good method in arduino for taking an analog value obtained via analogRead(), and using that value to trigger, and not trigger, the appropriate pins/groups of pins to represent the value in binary.
i.e.
I have the output of a potentiometer running to an analog pin. I would like to build a small circuit with 10 LEDs representing the 10 bits, such that when the potentiometer is grounded none of the LEDs light up, but when it's shorted they all light up. (10 LEDs switched on when a value of 1023 is read, first LED only when a value of 512 is read, so on and so forth)

I'm new to all things circuit related, but feel like this would be a cool project.

The only way I personally know how to do it would be to use lots of if statements (at least 1,023 of them)

Thanks in advance!

You could use the bitRead function.

Maybe I've misunderstood something.

Use the bitRead() function on your variable to determine if a given bit is set or not.

unsigned int val = analogRead(A0);
for(int i=0; i < 10; ++i ) {
  if ( bitRead( val, i ) == 1 ) {
    // bit is set, turn on led
  }
  else {
    // bit is not set turn off led
  }
}

You could also use a shift register...

Grounded? Shorted? Whaaa? What does your circuit look like?

Believe it or not, we've seen things like that on this board...

10 LED's 10% of the analog value per led.

Analog value 0 to 5. Analog values are from 0 to 1024. (Uno) An analog value of 0 = all LED's off. an Analog value of 1024 = all LED's on.

1024/10=102

An analog value >102 and <=204 would be turn on LED1

An analog value >204 and <= 306 turn 2 LED on and so on and so forth.

0 to 1023

Hi, @hunterwayne95
Welcome to the forum.

If you Google;

arduino led level indicator

You will see many tutorials/projects on what you are looking for.

Tom.... :smiley: :+1: :coffee: :australia:

Am I missing something?