Design project with magnets + IR sensor + LEDs

Hi everyone ! I'm a design student and my mothertongue isn't english so... please stay great ::slight_smile:

I'm actually working on what will (hopefully) become a lamp. I already made a shape prototype and it will look approximately like this : https://benjaminmotoc.tumblr.com/post/166309286360/glumi-first-prototype-of-curiosity :slight_smile:

The idea is to put all the electronic [Arduino UNO+TCRT5000 IR sensor+battery+LEDs] inside of the wooden part.
I'll angle the IR upward (underneath a thin see-through acrylic surface) and program the LEDs according to the distance in-between the white floating shape and the wooden part.

The principle would be to have a variation of LED's light intensity when you make the floating shape "bouncing" with your finger (it's working with magnets, no magic ::slight_smile: ) or I'll just make it blink ON/OFF according to the up-and-down movements.
Moreover, when the white shape is taken off from the tube, the LEDs should turn off too...

I think it's electronically not that complexe but I'm really bad for this... Like really.
I rade/watched articles and tutos but I don't get it. The more I do research, the more I dig into ampers, Arduino, resistors, ohms.. the more I lose myself.

My peers and teachers adviced me to post this on the Arduino forum which is, I hope a nice shot !

Did anyone already work with this sensor and might know how I can make it happen ? Pictures really help me.
I'm working on it (and on side projects) for weeks and I feel more and more stupid. Moreover, the deadline is soon soon...

Help !! Thanks for your attention and happy new year :smiley:
Cheers and I'll show you the final outcome for sure

I think your first test is to see if the IR will go through the acrylic plastic. The beam will have to go through twice.

Paul

There's a good chance that your acrylic is not transparent to IR indeed.