Digital toggle question - very basic question

Hi all -
I'm very new to the Arduino and somewhat to electronics in general but have been programming for far too long. Which is why this is a frustrating question.

I've got a used HP motor from an inkjet printer. On the end of it is a positional sensor that is basically an LED IR transmitter/receiver combo with a wheel with very small slots cut in it. I'm simply trying to watch what is going on with the sensor. I know that, for example, there are 40 "pulses" per revolution.

But I'm obviously missing something pretty big as I can't successfully handle the counts. If I spin the shaft at a fairly low speed (with my hand) I see what appear to be the correct number of pulses and the program below works great. But, again with just my hand, if I spin the shaft quickly I am missing many pulses. Indeed, the faster I try to spin it the more pulses I miss. I have a simple LED out to watch the pulses but my counters quickly get messed up.

I don't feel for an instant that I'm spinning too fast for the Arduino (Uno) to keep up. This isn't some 25K RPM test - it's with my hand. So I ask for some guidance as to a better way to program for this problem.

Thanks very much for any help in advance.

int ledPin = 13;
int inputPin1 = 2;
int clicksInARevolution = 40;

//
// some initialization
//
int clickCounter = 0;
int lastClickCounter = 0;
int lastLoopValue = LOW;
int revolutionCount = 0;

void setup() {
  pinMode( ledPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode( inputPin1, INPUT);

Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println( "setup done" );
}

void loop() {
  if( digitalRead(inputPin1) == LOW) {
    if( lastLoopValue == HIGH ) {
      clickCounter++;
      lastLoopValue = LOW;
      Serial.print( "clickCounter is now " );
      Serial.println( clickCounter );
    }
    digitalWrite( ledPin, LOW );
  }
  else {
    digitalWrite( ledPin, HIGH );
    if( lastLoopValue == LOW ) {
      lastLoopValue = HIGH;
    }
  }