Double throw switch for debouncing

Hi hi,

I'm new to Arduino (and programming, and soldering) and have just ordered a micro for a footswitch macro keyboard project.

Would using a double throw switch improve debouncing?

I figure if I connect a pin to each pole of the switch and xor the read, that may remove the need to use further debouncing code. I suppose it depends on the performance of the switch. Maybe at the least it could make existing debounce methods more accurate or faster?

edit - originally said double throw - I meant double pole
edit - dammit - I was right the first time - I really do mean double throw (I think) The next few posts were written while the title and body said "double pole". To be really clear I'm talking about the kind of switch that alternates between opening one circuit while closing another.

24/8 Update - Solution: In short, yes. An XOR in the right place removes the need for any timer based debounce code if double throw switches are used.

Example code here: Double throw switch for debouncing - #24 by matmanj - Project Guidance - Arduino Forum

No it wont!. And there's no problem the speed or accuracy of the standard debouncing code.

Mark

matmanj:
I figure if I connect a pin to each pole of the switch and xor the read, that may remove the need to use further debouncing code.

Then you did not actually think of what that would do. Two switch poles fed into an XOR will by definition generate twice as many bounces. :astonished: How do you propose that will help?

The point is - you have an intelligent piece of debounce hardware - it is called a microcontroller. It can perform innumerable debounces in plenty of time for breakfast.

Here is some rather solid - and easily configurable - debounce code of mine. Not a "library". Libraries tend to obscure things.

// Blink without "delay()" - multi!

const int led1Pin =  13;    // LED pin number
const int led2Pin =  10;
const int led3Pin =  11;