"drawing" panel with leds, assistance requested.

Hi... I'm a student, pretty new to Arduino. Trying to work on a project and was wondering about feasibility/best route to take.

I'm trying to build two grids, lets say 20x20, one of momentary buttons and one of LEDs, which correspond to each other (button at 0,0 on panel 1 lights up LED at 0,0 on panel 2). I'd like the two panels to be able to communicate wirelessly, and for the leds to remain on for a few seconds after the button is pressed and then turn off, so it's possible to write with your hand on the buttons and have it be readable on the other panel. I'm not sure what the best avenue is as far as getting all the buttons into one arduino and all the leds into another one, and have them able to communicate wirelessly (through Xbee or something). If anyone has any input, that would be great. If I'm missing information, please let me know. Thanks a lot.

-Geoff

Sure, very feasible. With regular arduino you get 20 IO, and you'd 2 for the wireless part. Easy way around that is to multiplex/demuliplex. Use multiplexing to read the state of 8 buttons on one input pin. Use demultiplexing to control the state of 8 LEDs from one output pin. (or use bigger chip like ATMega324/644/1284 (40 pin DIP, different memory sizes). Can wire up standalone circuit very easily, use part like FTDI Basic to download sketches into it. Have 32 IO to use then. Still need two for RF Rx/Tx. Use 434 MHz RF Tx & Rx module to send button state from one arduino to the other.

Great! thanks for responding. So for the multiplexer chips, would one like this work? http://search.digikey.com/us/en/products/74HC4051N,652/568-1455-5-ND/763059