Drive Multiple Variable Speed ERM Vibration Motors

Hey Everyone,

I am very new to the electronics world and have just started to use arduino uno. I started learning so I could complete this project that I have had in my mind.

I want to be able to drive 8-10 ERM vibration motors all being on at the same time.

https://www.precisionmicrodrives.com/product/307-103-002-9mm-vibration-motor-25mm-type

I would like the motors to vary speed, either using a potentiometer or using a push button to cycle through different speeds. The motors would ideally run for about 1 hour per use. I would like the system to be rechargeable for mobile use.

Research has showed that I would need to use a PWM signal, so I have been doing a lot of research on that. Is the arduino even ideal for the level of continuously variable current that I am looking for? What other components do I need to complete the project?

If there are any other posts that someone could point me to, reference designs that are useful, or personal advice, then it would be greatly appreciated.

Ian

An Arduino can't provide the current needed by a motor but it can provide the PWM signal needed to control a motor through a MOSFET (if you only need rotation in one direction) or though a h-bridge. For your low-voltage motors the Pololu DRV8833 h-bridge would be suitable.

An Arduino Uno can only drive 6 separate PWM signals. If you need more then an Arduino Mega would be more suitable.

I have read elsewhere that coreless motors don't like PWM signals, or may need them to be at a high frequency. You should check with the manufacturer. The standard Arduino PWM frequency is 490Hz but it can be changed.

...R

Hi there!

So the Arduino Uno is a great board to start out on. However, there are a few drawbacks. There are only six digital pins on the Uno that can feed a PWM signal (pins 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11). With this board, you could only use six motors at varying speed.