DS18B20 Temperature Sensor not working

I'm new to arduino and i'm trying to connect a ds18b20 temperature sensor to my arduino. My program is exactly the same as this video.

I'm using a Mega 2560 and I have the long waterproof temperature sensor cable. I've connected the black and the red wire's of the temperature sensor to ground of the arduino and the yellow wire to a digital pin 8 and also a pull up 4.7k resistor that connects to 5v of the arduino.
The serial monitor keeps showing me the temperature as -127. Weird thing is, while the program is running if i remove the temperature sensor it still shows me the value, seems its not detecting the sensor. Please help It's for my university project.

Thank you.

Can you post the code you are using? (use code tags)

The value of -127 comes probably from

#define DEVICE_DISCONNECTED_C -127 <<<<<< from DallasTemperature.h

at least if you are using the Dallas Temp Control Library. Can you confirm?

You can trace back the code in the library to the isConnected() call.

somehow the library does not connect to the device.

Think the black wire should be ground and the red to +5V ???

The code I’m using is

#include <OneWire.h>

#include <DallasTemperature.h>

OneWire oneWire(8);
DallasTemperature sensors(&oneWire);

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
sensors.begin();
Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
  sensors.requestTemperatures();
  float currentTemp;
  currentTemp = sensors.getTempCByIndex(0);
  Serial.print("Temperature = ");
  Serial.println(currentTemp,2);

delay(1000);
}

Actually, I did use the red wire as 5v before and the yellow as ground and it didn’t work either and had to google the right pin.

Thank you for your quick response.

code looks OK on first sight

Deep_Ak:
Actually, I did use the red wire as 5v before and the yellow as ground and it didn't work either and had to google the right pin.